A project template is used in project creation. Repeating project criteria is maintained for regular clients, projects shared with Vendors, or projects created with the submitter portal. Use of a template streamlines the submission process and reduces errors.
Project templates are created in two ways:
-
directly.
-
from existing projects.
When created from an existing project, the project settings are automatically propagated to the template and can be adjusted before saving.
To create a new project template directly, follow these steps:
-
From the Settings
page, scroll down to the section and click on Project Templates.
The page opens.
-
Click on
New.
The page opens.
-
Provide a name and configure , , and as required.
-
Click Create.
Template is added to the list of .
To save an existing project as a template, follow these steps:
-
Open an existing project.
-
Click Save as and select .
The page opens.
-
Provide a name and configure , , and as required.
-
Click Create.
Template is added to the list of .
Note
Linguists are not saved from the project. They can be added manually by editing the template.
To edit a project template, follow these steps:
-
From the Settings
page, scroll down to the section and click on Project Templates.
The page opens.
-
Click on a template.
The page opens.
-
Change project settings and click Save.
The changes are applied to the selected template.
Note
Changing the settings in a project template does not affect the settings of existing projects created on the basis of that template.
The list tools in the upper right corner of the list are used to sort, filter and customize the list of Project Templates. Users can reorder columns as needed. Column order is saved per browser.
Project templates do not keep a change history. A template stores only its current configuration and earlier versions of a template are not retained and cannot be restored or compared.
Tip
Project templates can be duplicated via API, creating a new template as a copy of the source, which can then be renamed and adjusted independently. The UI does not offer an option to clone a template directly. To duplicate a project template through the UI, save an existing project as a new template instead.
Project templates support batch management of translation memories (TMs) across multiple languages and workflow steps, using the Add batch TMs action. This enables removing, reordering or resetting TMs across multiple languages and workflow steps in a single batch action.
To batch-manage translation memories, follow these steps:
-
From the page, navigate to .
-
Click Add batch TMs.
The window opens. The window pre-loads translation memories already in use for the selected scope, even when order, write mode, or penalty settings differ across languages or workflow steps.
-
Under ,
-
select Add TMs to keep existing TMs for the selected scope and add new ones on top. Matching TMs may be replaced.
-
select Replace TMs to remove existing TMs from the selected scope and apply the new list instead.
-
-
Under , select All or Specific to scope the affected languages. If is selected, select affected target languages from the dropdown.
-
Under , select All or Specific to scope the affected workflow steps. If is selected, select affected workflow steps from the dropdown.
-
Under , add up to 20 TMs, with a maximum of 2 in write mode.
-
Turn on to control the sequence in which TMs are applied.
-
Set penalty and write mode for each TM.
-
Click the
Xnext to a TM to remove it from the batch.
-
-
Click
Confirmto apply the changes.
To create a new project using a template, follow these steps:
Click through tutorial on template creation and use.
Project Managers can assign providers (Linguists or Vendors) to each of the project workflow steps using an existing Project Template.
The number of workflow steps and the source language in the chosen project template must match those in the new project or the project template will not appear in the list. Target languages can be different, but at least one of the target languages must be the same.
Assigning providers from a template will not overwrite any existing assignments. Providers can be assigned from multiple templates as long as the templates match the criteria.
When a project is created from a template that includes providers, those providers are automatically added to any job created in the project.
Note
API behavior is slightly different. When a project is created from a template that includes providers, those providers are not automatically added when a job is created in the new project. To include them, use the Assign providers from template call.
To assign a provider from a template, follow these steps:
-
From the job table, select specific jobs to assign providers.
Note
Providers can be assigned to a maximum of 100 jobs at once.
Repeat this step to batch assign providers to more than 100 jobs.
-
Click Tools and select Assign providers from a Template.
The window opens.
-
Select a project template from the dropdown menu and optionally to .
A list of defined workflow steps and potential providers is displayed. Clicking on the workflow step presents provider details.
-
Click Assign.
Providers from selected template are assigned to the selected job(s).
Click through tutorial on assigning providers from a template.