Translation Management

User Roles (Strings)

User seats are used to create profiles for other users so that they can collaborate on localization projects. Profiles are created for product managers, developers, and translators. Each user profile has a default role, however the role can be changed on the project level. Users can also be grouped into teams.

Existing and invited users are presented on the Users tab of the Users page. Users can be sorted and clicking on the user displays role, language access, teams, assigned projects and latest user activity. Users can also be deleted from the Users tab.

Roles

Every user in Phrase has a user role that defines access rights. Apart from the all-powerful Owner there are the five different roles. Enterprise customers may have customized roles, if a custom role is required, contact the support team.

  • Administrator

    • Sees all projects.

    • Can edit translations for all languages and access all features in any project.

    • Can manage users and organization settings.

    • Recommended for users that need full access to the organization and all projects.

  • Project manager

    • Sees only assigned projects.

    • Can edit translations for all languages and access all features in assigned projects.

      Note

      Project managers cannot modify term bases in assigned projects.

    • Can manage users and project settings.

    • Recommended for users that need access and manage certain projects.

    • Can be given global read-only access to all spaces and projects of the organization (can be activated via the user profile).

  • Developer

    • Sees only assigned projects.

    • Can edit translations for all languages in assigned projects.

    • Can manage language settings in assigned projects.

    • Recommended for users with access limited to individual projects and no administrative tasks.

  • Designer

    • Sees only assigned projects.

    • Can view and edit translations for all languages.

    • Can upload files and screenshots.

    • Recommended for users with access limited to individual projects, and who are responsible for design, layout, UX, etc. (such as via Sketch).

  • Translator

    • Sees only assigned projects.

    • Can view translations for all languages in assigned projects, but can edit translations only for assigned languages.

    • Can upload files for assigned languages (if permission is given by an Administrator).

    • Recommended for users with access limited to specific languages, including community users.

  • Guest

    • Sees only assigned projects.

    • Can view translations for all languages in assigned projects and leave comments.

    • Can access term bases (can be removed).

    • Recommended to give read-only access for colleagues or stakeholders not directly involved in the localization process.

Project-based User Roles

As the Owner or as a Admin and Project Manager, the default role of a user can be overwritten and be assigned to a project-based role. This gives specified users different powers within a project and allows teams to view unassigned projects without risk of interfering in project processes. A user, as an example, may have the default role of Developer but can be a Guest in another project. 

Roles can be overwritten within the project via the Roles tab on the User page. role_info.png beside a user name indicates the default role assignments have been changed.

Teams

Teams are for grouping users and batch-assigning access rights. This become more useful the more users are working in an organization.

To create a team, follow these steps:

  1. From the Users page, select the Teams tab.

  2. Click Create new team.

    The Create a new team window opens.

  3. Provide a Team Name.

  4. In the Team members tab, click Add beside a user name to add them to the new team.

    The Add button changes to a Remove button for selected users.

  5. From the Project access tab, click Add to select which existing projects the new team will have access to.

    The Add button changes to a Remove button for selected projects.

  6. Click Save team.

    The new team is added to the Teams tab.

Was this article helpful?

Sorry about that! In what way was it not helpful?

The article didn’t address my problem.
I couldn’t understand the article.
The feature doesn’t do what I need.
Other reason.

Note that feedback is provided anonymously so we aren't able to reply to questions.
If you'd like to ask a question, submit a request to our Support team.
Thank you for your feedback.