Users and Roles

Project Manager (TMS)

Project managers are in charge of project management, the creation or modification of projects, assignment creation, TMs, TBs and resources management.

Although Project managers have almost the same rights as the Administrator, they cannot view or modify the subscription. If a PM is also acting as a linguist, relevancy settings can also be applied.

Owners

A PM can be assigned as the Owner of a project, project template, TM, or TB created by another user and gains the same user rights as if it had been created by them.

PM permissions can be set so that they don't have the right to view/edit/delete projects created by other users unless the PM is set as the owner of the project.

Job owner

Apart from being the owner of an entire project, project template, TM, or TB, Project managers and Administrators can also become job owners. Each user who imports a job into a project automatically becomes the job owner and receives notifications of status changes of such jobs.

If not familiar with project manager tasks, see the Quick Start Guide.

Set Project Manager User Rights

Project managers user rights are set by an Administrator and can be very restrictive if required.

When a project manager is assigned as the provider, their PM permissions take precedence. As an example, when a PM has access limited to a specific business unit and is assigned to a job in another unit, they will not be able to access it.

To set PM user rights, follow these steps:

  1. From the Users page, select a user and click Edit.

    The Edit page opens.

  2. Ensure the Role is Project manager.

    Settings specific to the Project manager role are displayed.

  3. Select required restrictions and click Save.

    Settings are applied to the specified user.

Project Manager Access and Permissions

Administrators, and project managers who have the relevant permissions, can configure the following settings for other Project Manager (PM) users:

Projects

Setting

Description

Create projects

Allows the PM to create new projects (default: enabled).

View projects created by other users

Allows the PM to view projects created by other users. The PM sees these projects in the project list and can open each project's page directly.

Modify projects created by other users

Allows the PM to modify projects created by other users.

Delete projects created by other users

Allows the PM to delete projects created by other users.

Access projects of selected clients only

Restricts the PM's access to projects assigned to selected clients only.

Access projects of selected business units only

Restricts the PM's access to projects assigned to selected business units only.

Access projects of selected buyers only

Restricts the PM's access to selected buyers only. Empty selection means unrestricted.

Project Templates

Setting

Description

Create project templates

Allows the PM to create new project templates.

View project templates created by other users

Allows the PM to view templates created by other users. The PM cannot open a template created by another user to see its details.

Modify project templates created by other users

Allows the PM to modify templates created by other users.

Delete project templates created by other users

Allows the PM to delete templates created by other users.

Access project templates of selected clients only

Restricts the PM's access to templates assigned to selected clients only.

Access project templates of selected business units only

Restricts the PM's access to templates assigned to selected business units only.

Translation Memories (TMs)

Setting

Description

Create TMs

Allows the PM to create new TMs.

View TMs created by other users

Allows the PM to view TMs created by other users. The PM sees these TM's in the TM list and can open each TM's page directly.

Modify TMs created by other users

Allows the PM to modify TMs created by other users.

Delete TMs created by other users

Allows the PM to delete TMs created by other users.

Export TMs created by other users

Allows the PM to export TMs created by other users.

Import into TMs created by other users

Allows the PM to import into TMs created by other users.

Access TMs of selected clients only

Restricts the PM's access to TMs assigned to selected clients only.

Access TMs of selected business units only

Restricts the PM's access to TMs assigned to selected business units only.

Term Bases (TBs)

Setting

Description

Create TBs

Allows the PM to create new TBs.

View TBs created by other users

Allows the PM to view TBs created by other users. The PM sees these TB's in the TB list and can open each TB's page directly.

Modify TBs created by other users

Allows the PM to modify TBs created by other users.

Delete TBs created by other users

Allows the PM to delete TBs created by other users.

Export TBs created by other users

Allows the PM to export TBs created by other users.

Import into TBs created by other users

Allows the PM to import into TBs created by other users.

Approve terms in TBs created by other users

Allows the PM to approve terms in TBs created by other users.

Access TBs of selected clients only

Restricts the PM's access to TBs assigned to selected clients only.

Access TBs of selected business units only

Restricts the PM's access to TBs assigned to selected business units only.

Users

Setting

Description

Create users

Allows the PM to create new users.

View users created by other users

Allows the PM to view users created by other users. The PM sees these in the users list and can open each user's page directly.

Modify users created by other users

Allows the PM to modify users created by other users.

Delete users created by other users

Allows the PM to delete users created by other users.

Clients, Domains, Subdomains

Setting

Description

Create clients, domains, subdomains

Allows the PM to create new clients, domains, and subdomains.

View clients, domains, subdomains created by other users

Allows the PM to view clients/domains/subdomains created by other users. The PM sees these in the clients/domains/subdomains lists and can open each client/domain/subdomain's page directly.

Modify clients, domains, subdomains created by other users

Allows the PM to modify clients/domains/subdomains created by other users.

Delete clients, domains, subdomains created by other users

Allows the PM to delete clients/domains/subdomains created by other users.

Analytics dashboards

Controls access level for the Analytics dashboards. Three levels are available:

  • View all organization data.

  • View only data from projects the project manager owns.

  • No dashboard access.

Vendors

Setting

Description

Create vendors

Allows the PM to create new vendors.

View vendors created by other users

Allows the PM to view vendors created by other users. The PM cannot open a vendor created by another user to see its details.

Modify vendors created by other users

Allows the PM to modify vendors created by other users.

Delete vendors created by other users

Allows the PM to delete vendors created by other users.

Other

Setting

Description

Modify global server settings

Allows the PM access to all other settings except for those that offer separate access rights (i.e. project / project templates / TMs / TBs / users / clients, domains, subdomains / vendors / analytics dashboards). It also grants the PM access to Phrase Language AI and the submitter portal.

When both a client and a business unit are specified, only projects, templates, TMs, or TBs matching both are shown.

Was this article helpful?

Sorry about that! In what way was it not helpful?

The article didn’t address my problem.
I couldn’t understand the article.
The feature doesn’t do what I need.
Other reason.

Note that feedback is provided anonymously so we aren't able to reply to questions.
If you'd like to ask a question, submit a request to our Support team.
Thank you for your feedback.